Academic Coaches

Academic coaches play an important and critical role in the success of the students associated with our ACE and iAchieve programs. Coaches work individually with students, assess their strengths and needs, and develop a personalized plan of action. They refer students to appropriate campus resources and hold students accountable to utilizing them. Coaches and students are matched based on major and/or common interests and hobbies.

The success of these programs relies on the efforts of New York Tech faculty and staff who participate in this student success initiative.

Characteristics of Effective Academic Coaches

Passionate

Academic Coaches are passionate about student success and are willing to grow professionally, while contributing to the New York Tech community.

Patient

Academic Coaches understand that effective change doesn't occur overnight and will recognize small improvements made by their assigned student as a major milestone.

Persistent

Academic Coaches go above and beyond to connect with their assigned students. This may include multiple forms of outreach and persistent communication.

Available

Academic Coaches will dedicate time to meet with their students, attend training sessions, and complete follow-ups.

Motivating

Academic coaches will encourage and motivate students to complete program requirements and succeed academically.

Open-Minded

Academic Coaches are willing to continuously learn about the resources available to students and encourage them when appropriate.

Time Commitment

  • Training (required): 4 hours
  • Student coaching (required): (5) 1-hour meetings throughout the semester, per student (Coaches are assigned no more than 3 students per semester)
  • Coach Conversions (optional): (6) 1-hour meetings throughout the semester

Academic Coaches primarily focus on the following outcomes with their assigned students:

  • Building academic self-awareness
  • Building confidence, resilience, and grit
  • Developing critical thinking and depth of learning
  • Developing organization systems and strategies
  • Developing time management systems and strategies
  • Engaging in academic dialogue
  • Identifying and accessing resources
  • Improving communication with peers and professionals
  • Setting, reviewing, and adjusting goals
  • Understanding program expectations

Interested in becoming a coach? All faculty and full-time exempt staff are welcome!

Apply Now

Current Coaches

close up image of Maherukh Akhtar
Maherukh Akhtar
Teaching Assistant Professor, Computer Science
makhtar@nyit.edu
close up image of Kiran Balagani
Kiran Balagani
Associate Professor, Computer Science
kbalagan@nyit.edu
close up image of Madhabi Barua
Madhabi Barua
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Biological and Chemical Sciences
mbarua@nyit.edu
close up image of Amy Bravo
Amy Bravo
Senior Director, Experiential Education
abravo@nyit.edu
close up image of Rosemary Burgos-Mira
Rosemary Burgos-Mira
Director, Public and Technical Services, New York Tech Library
rburgosm@nyit.edu
close up image of Dorinamaria Carka
Dorinamaria Carka
Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
dcarka@nyit.edu
close up image of Batu Chalise
Batu Chalise
Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
bchalise@nyit.edu
close up image of Jerry Cheng
Jerry Cheng
Assistant Professor, Computer Science
jcheng18@nyit.edu
illustration of generic head and sholders
John Comeau
Physical Therapist/Supervisor, Academic Health Care Center
jcomeau@nyit.edu
close up image of Maria Dinanno
Maria Dinanno
Student Advisement Specialist, School of Management
mdinanno@nyit.edu
illustration of generic head and sholders
Paul Ferrante
Assistant Director, Student Life
pferra01@nyit.edu
illustration of generic head and sholders
Beatrice Figueroa
Online Program and Design Manager, Center for Teaching and Learning
bfigue06@nyit.edu
close up image of Mathew Ford
Mathew Ford
Associate Professor, Architecture
mford05@nyit.edu
close up image of Susan Gass
Susan Gass
Teaching Assistant Professor, Computer Science
sgass@nyit.edu
close up image of Mindy Haar
Mindy Haar
Department Chair, Interdisciplinary Health Sciences
mhaar@nyit.edu
illustration of generic head and sholders
Meghan Henshaw
Administration Specialist, College of Osteopathic Medicine
mhenshaw@nyit.edu
close up image of Azhar Ilyas
Azhar Ilyas
Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
ailyas@nyit.edu
illustration of generic head and sholders
Alaina Ingram
Assistant Registrar, Office of the Registrar
aingra02@nyit.edu
close up image of Hyun-Tae Jung
Hyun-Tae Jung
Associate Professor, Architecture
hjung05@nyit.edu
close up image of Sheri Kelleher
Sheri Kelleher
Assistant Provost, Academic Affairs
skellehe@nyit.edu
close up image of Christine Kerigan
Christine Kerigan
Coordinator, School of Architecture and Design
ckerigan@nyit.edu
close up image of Dong-Sei Kim
Dong-Sei Kim
Assistant Professor, Architecture
dongsei.kim@nyit.edu
close up image of Michael Lane
Michael Lane
Senior Director, Office of Research, Assessment, and Decision Support
mlane@nyit.edu
close up image of Sara Jane Lowe
Sara Jane Lowe
Senior Communications Specialist, Enrollment Services
sara.jane.lowe@nyit.edu
close up image of Sebastien Marion
Sebastien Marion
Librarian, New York Tech Library
smarion@nyit.edu
illustration of generic head and sholders
Jack Mazzer
Registrar Assistant, Office of the Registrar
jmazzer@nyit.edu
close up image of Adrienne McNally
Adrienne McNally
Director, Experiential Education
amcnally@nyit.edu
close up image of Harsh Mehta
Harsh Mehta
Assistant Director, Enrollment Services
hmehta04@nyit.edu
close up image of Richard Meyers
Richard Meyers
Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology
rmeyers@nyit.edu
close up image of Patrick Minson
Patrick Minson
Vice President, Development and Alumni Relations
patrick.minson@nyit.edu
close up image of Mohammed Moizzoudin
Mohammed Moizzoudin
Director, Institutional Research
mmoizudd@nyit.edu
close up image of Angela Monahan
Angela Monahan
Assistant Director, Career Services
amonah01@nyit.edu
close up image of Diana Moronta
Diana Moronta
Librarian, New York Tech Library
lmoronta@nyit.edu
close up image of Rachel Morrison
Rachel Morrison
Counselor, HEOP
rfidis@nyit.edu
close up image of Suzanne Musho
Suzanne Musho
VP and Chief Architect, Real Estate Development and Sustainable Capital Planning
smusho@nyit.edu
close up image of Lyubov Nakonechna
Lyubov Nakonechna
Senior Specialist, College of Arts and Sciences
lnakonec@nyit.edu
close up image of Niharika Nath
Niharika Nath
Professor, Biological and Chemical Sciences
nnath@nyit.edu
close up image of Michael Nolan
Michael Nolan
Associate Professor, Architecture
mnolan@nyit.edu
close up image of Sung Park
Sung Park
Assistant Professor, Digital Art and Design
spark13@nyit.edu
close up image of Navin Pokala
Navin Pokala
Assistant Professor, Biological and Chemical Sciences
navin.pokala@nyit.edu
close up image of Sabrina Polidoro
Sabrina Polidoro
Director, Alumni Relations
spolidor@nyit.edu
close up image of Rajendra Tibrewala
Rajendra Tibrewala
Professor, Management and Marketing Studies
tibrewal@nyit.edu
close up image of Karen Vahey
Karen Vahey
Dean, Admissions and Financial Aid
karen.vahey@nyit.edu
close up image of Joanne West
Joanne West
Director, Student Engagement and Development
joanne.west@nyit.edu

Previous Coaches


Spring 2021
  • Ahmadreza Baghaie
  • Alaina Ingram
  • Amy Bravo
  • Raj Tibrewala
  • Deborah Cohn
  • Dong-Sei Kim
  • Dorinamaria Carka
  • Emily Restivo
  • Hyun-Tae Jung
  • Kate O'Hara
  • Kiran Balagani
  • Mahreukh Akhtar
  • Michael Lane
  • Michael Nizich
  • Michael Nolan
  • Mindy Haar
  • Mohammed Moizuddin
  • Navin Pokala
  • Niharika Nath
  • Richard Meyers
  • Felix Fischman
  • Adrienne McNally
  • Gregory Pasken
  • Mathew Ford
  • Susan Gass
  • John Misak
  • Tadiyos Gebre
  • Brian Harper
  • Azhar Ilyas


Fall 2020
  • Ahmadreza Baghaie
  • Alaina Ingram
  • Amy Bravo
  • Raj Tibrewala
  • Deborah Cohn
  • Dong-Sei Kim
  • Dorinamaria Carka
  • Emily Restivo
  • Hyun-Tae Jung
  • Kate O'Hara
  • Kiran Balagani
  • Mahreukh Akhtar
  • Michael Lane
  • Michael Nizich
  • Michael Nolan
  • Mindy Haar
  • Mohammed Moizuddin
  • Navin Pokala
  • Niharika Nath
  • Richard Meyers
  • Felix Fischman
  • Adrienne McNally
  • Gregory Pasken
  • Mathew Ford
  • Susan Gass
  • Zennabelle
  • John Misak
  • Tadiyos Gebre
  • Brian Harper
  • Azhar Ilyas


Spring 2020
  • Adrienne McNally
  • Alaina Ingram
  • Amy Bravo
  • Dong-Sei Kim
  • Dr. Ahmadreza Baghaie
  • Dr. Batu Chalise
  • Dr. Brian Harper
  • Dr. Daniel Quigley
  • Dr. Deborah Cohn
  • Dr. Dorinamaria Carka
  • Dr. Emily Restivo
  • Dr. Jerry Cheng
  • Dr. John Misak
  • Dr. Kate O'Hara
  • Dr. Kiran Balagani
  • Dr. Lou Reinisch
  • Dr. Michael Nizich
  • Dr. Mindy Haar
  • Dr. Navin Pokala
  • Dr. Niharika Nath
  • Dr. Purushottam Meena
  • Dr. Sertac Artan
  • Dr. Sheri Kelleher
  • Dr. Wenjia Li
  • Erin Mullins
  • Gregory Pasken
  • Hyun-Tae Jung
  • Jessica Boudouris
  • Jon Schwarting
  • Kevin Park
  • Luzia Ogureck
  • Mathew Ford
  • Michael Lane
  • Michael Nolan
  • Mohammed Moizuddin
  • Rajendra Tibrewala
  • Richard Meyers
  • Robert Raciti
  • Susan Gass
  • Tadiyos Gebre
  • Zennabelle Sewell
  • Thomas Leggio


Fall 2019
  • Adrienne McNally
  • Alaina Ingram
  • Amy Bravo
  • Chris Olagunju
  • Dong-Sei Kim
  • Dr. Ahmadreza Baghaie
  • Dr. Amanda Golden
  • Dr. Batu Chalise
  • Dr. Claude Gagna
  • Dr. Daniel Cinotti
  • Dr. Deborah Cohn
  • Dr. Dorinamaria Carka
  • Dr. Emily Restivo
  • Dr. Kate O'Hara
  • Dr. Kiran Balagani
  • Dr. Lou Reinisch
  • Dr. Mindy Haar
  • Dr. Navin Pokala
  • Dr. Niharika Nath
  • Dr. Purushottam Meena
  • Dr. Sheri Kelleher
  • Jessica Aulakh
  • Jon Schwarting
  • Kevin Park
  • Laurie Hollister
  • Lazaros Pavlidis
  • Luzia Ogureck
  • Mathew Ford
  • Michael Lane
  • Michael Nolan
  • Michael Urmeneta
  • Mohammed Moizuddin
  • Navin Pokala
  • Nicholas DeFelice
  • Rajendra Tibrewala
  • Richard Meyers
  • Sabrina Polidoro
  • Susan Gass
  • Zennabelle Sewell