Academic Senate

The Academic Senate of New York Institute of Technology is an assembly of faculty and administrators that advises NYIT’s president and board of trustees on a variety of issues related to the operations of the college. Senators represent each academic major and related administrative offices, and are elected by their colleagues at the beginning of each fall term to serve for the academic year. Senate officers are elected at the first meeting of each academic year.

Officers 2018–2019

Niharika Nath
College of Arts and Sciences

Vice President:
Raj Tibrewala
School of Management

Recording Secretary:
Sebastien Marion

Corresponding Secretary:
Brian Beatty
College of Osteopathic Medicine

Constitution of the Academic Senate

2018-19 Academic Senate Team Drive

Past Constitutions

Calendar of the 2018-19 Academic Senate

Date Time Location
Friday, October 12 (Fall, Week 5) 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. OW
Friday, December 7 (Fall, Week 14) 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MA
Friday, February 8 (Spring, Week 3) 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. OW
Friday, March 29 (Spring, Week 9) 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. MA
Friday, May 3 (Spring, Week 14) 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. OW
Ad Hoc Special Events
Tuesday, October 30 (Fall, Week 8) 12:45 – 2:10 p.m. DL-2/706
Tuesday, November 27 (Fall, Week 12) 12:45 – 2:10 p.m. DL-2/706

For the meeting dates of each individual standing committee of the Academic Senate, please refer to their committee page:

Full Meeting Calendar for all of the Academic Senate and Committees, updated Sept. 28, 2018

Full Membership of the Academic Senate, Academic Year 2018-2019

Updated 2019-04-03

President: Niharika Nath
Vice President: Raj Tibrewala
Recording Secretary: Sebastien Marion
Corresponding Secretary: Brian Beatty

A. Administration: Ex Officio with Vote (20)

  1. President: Hank Foley
  2. Vice President for Academic Affairs: Junius Gonzales
  3. Vice President for Health Sciences & Medical Affairs: Jerry Balentine
  4. Vice President for Strategic Communications & External Affairs: Nada Anid
  5. Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations: Patrick Minson
  6. Director, Intercollegiate Athletics: Daniel Velez
  7. Associate Provost, Academic Affairs: Lou Reinisch
  8. Associate Provost, Educational Innovation: Francine Glazer
  9. Dean of the School of Health Professions: Gordon Schmidt
  10. Dean of the School of Architecture and Design: Maria Perbellini
  11. Dean of the School of Interdisciplinary Studies & Education, Interim: Christian Pongratz
  12. Dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences: Babak Beheshti
  13. Dean, College of Arts and Sciences: Dan Quigley
  14. Dean of the School of Management: Jess Boronico
  15. Director, Planning & Assessment: Kathleen Gill
  16. Senior Director, International & Experiential Education: Amy Bravo
  17. Medical Director: Brian Harper
  18. General Counsel: Catherine Flickinger
  19. Interim Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer: Barabara Holahan
  20. Interim Dean of Students (OW): Cason Brunt

B. Faculty Senators (40)

  • NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine (2)
    1. Isaac Kurtzer (2019)
    2. Gregory Saggio (2020)
  • School of Architecture and Design (5)

    1. David Diamond (MA-2019)
    2. Marcella Del Signore (MA-2020)
    3. Jonathan Friedman (OW-2019)
    4. Naomi Frangos (OW-2019)
    5. Martha Siegel (OW-2019)
  • College of Arts and Sciences (11)

    1. Lissi Athanasiou-Krikelis (MA-2020)
    2. James Fauvell (OW-2020)
    3. Jole Fiorito (OW-2020)
    4. Donald Fizzignoglia (OW-2020)
    5. Amana Golden (OW-2019)
    6. Michael Hosenfeld (MA-2019)
    7. Michael Izady (MA-2019)
    8. Niharika Nath (MA-2020)
    9. Emily Restivo (OW-2019)
    10. Ranja Roy (OW-2020)
    11. Roger Yu (MA-2020)
  • School of Interdisciplinary Studies & Education (3)

    1. Daniel Cinotti (MA-2019)
    2. Robert Feirsen (OW-2020)
    3. Hui-Yin Hsu (OW-2020)
  • School of Engineering and Computing Sciences (5)

    1. Steve Billis (MA-2020)
    2. Dorinamaria Carka (OW-2020)
    3. Wenjia Li (OW-2020)
    4. Anand Santhanakrishnan (MA-2020)
    5. Sabeeha Wadoo (OW-2019)
    6. Xun Yu (OW-2020)
    7. Tao Zhang (OW-2019)
  • School of Health Professions (5)

    1. Melanie Austin McCain (OW-2019)
    2. Mark Gugliotti (OW-2020)
    3. Pamela Karp (OW-2020)
    4. Kelly Lavin (OW-2020)
    5. Sara Winter (OW-2020)
  • School of Management (5)

    1. Joshua Bienstock (OW-2019)
    2. Ping Ke (OW-2019)
    3. Birasnav Muthuraj (OW-2020)
    4. Shaya Sheikh (MA-2020)
    5. Raj Tibrewala (MA-2019)

C. Other Faculty Not Representing Specific Schools (5)

  • At-Large Senators (2)
    1. New York City: Nabi Sertac Artan (2019)
    2. Old Westbury: Brian Beatty (2020)
  • Immediate Past President (1)

    1. Elizabeth Donaldson (OW)
  • AAUP Chapter Presidents (2)

    1. Ellen Katz (MA)
    2. Yael Roitberg (OW)

D. Professional Staff Senators (4)

  • Librarians (2)
    1. Sebastien Marion (MA-2019)
    2. Rosemary Burgos-Mira (OW-2020)
  • Professional Staff Counseling (2)

    1. Zaibis Munoz (OW-2020)
    2. Monika Rohde (OW-2020)

E. Student Government Association Presidents (2)

  1. Michelle Shinder (MA)
  2. Vasee Sukumaran (OW)

F. Non-Voting Invited Guests (11)

  1. Registrar: Kristen Smith
  2. Assistant Provost: Sheri Kelleher
  3. Assistant Provost for Sponsored Programs and Research: Allison Andors
  4. Executive Director, Career Services: John Hyde
  5. Dean, Admissions & Financial Aid: Karen Vahey
  6. Director of Strategic Messaging: Bobbie Dell’Aquilo
  7. Interim Dean of Students (MA): Zennabelle Sewell
  8. Executive Director, Global Academic Programs: Emily Zyko Rukobo
  9. Director, Student Administration & Operations: Joanne West
  10. Instructional Designer, Center for Teaching & Learning: Noreen O’Brien

Academic Senate Reporting – MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE