NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) Accreditation

NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) Accreditation

Accreditation is the means by which institutions of higher education are evaluated to ensure that they meet acceptable levels of quality. Institutional accreditation by a nationally recognized agency is required in order for its students to receive U.S. federal student aid for postsecondary study there. (In addition, it must be authorized by the state in which the institution is located, and receive approval from the U.S. Department of Education through a program participation agreement.)

There are two basic types of educational accreditation: "institutional" and "programmatic." NYITCOM is institutionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE), and it receives its program accreditation from the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA).

Accreditation activities include:
  • Establishing a set of standards which its members must meet;
  • In-depth self-studies prepared by the institution or program to measure its own performance against the accreditor’s standards;
  • Peer review of institutional and program documents as well as on-site evaluation;
  • Publishing accreditor decisions to signify whether or not an institution or program meets standards;
  • Ongoing reporting and monitoring to ensure that the institution or program continues to meet accreditor’s standards; and,
  • Re-assessing whether accreditation should be reaffirmed.

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE): Title IV institutional accreditation

The Mid-Atlantic Region Commission on Higher Education, doing business as the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE), is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education to conduct accreditation and pre-accreditation (candidacy status) activities for institutions of higher education in Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, including distance education and correspondence education programs offered at those institutions. The Commission is a voluntary, non-governmental, membership association.

NYIT’s Institutional Accreditation Status: Accreditation Reaffirmed
Accreditation Granted: 1969
Last Reaffirmation: 2019
Next Self-Study Evaluation: 2026-2027
Next Mid-Point Peer Review: 2023

Current standards: http://www.msche.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/RevisedStandardsFINAL.pdf

For additional information, please visit: https://www.msche.org/

To communicate with MSCHE, please see email directory at: https://www.msche.org/about-us/contact-us

Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA): Program Accreditation

COCA is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the accreditor of colleges of osteopathic medicine. COCA accreditation signifies that a college has met or exceeded the Commission's standards for educational quality.

NYITCOM’s Program Accreditation Status: Accredited
Last Reaffirmation: 2015
Last Mid-Cycle Review: 2019
Next Self-Study Evaluation: 2022

Current standards: https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/com-continuing-accreditation-standards.pdf

For additional information please visit: https://osteopathic.org/accreditation/

COCA’s Department of Accreditation can be reached by telephone at (312) 202-8124 or by email at predoc@osteopathic.org.

Furthermore, COCA has a complaint review procedure designed to protect the integrity and the maintenance of accreditation standards and procedures, which can be accessed through https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/complaint-review-procedures.pdf.

The complaint form can be accessed here.

MSCHE Standards COCA Standards
Standard I: Mission and Goals
Standard II: Ethics and Integrity
Standard III: Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience
Standard IV: Support of the Student Experience
Standard V: Educational Effectiveness Assessment
Standard VI: Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement
Standard VII: Governance, Leadership, and Administration
Standard 1: Mission and Governance
Standard 2: Leadership and Administration
Standard 3: Finances
Standard 4: Facilities
Standard 5: Learning Environment
Standard 6: Curriculum
Standard 7: Faculty and Staff
Standard 8: Scholarly Activity
Standard 9: Students
Standard 10: Graduate Medical Education (GME)
Standard 11: Program and Student Assessment and Outcomes
Standard 12: Institutional Accreditation (not applicable; covered by MSCHE accreditation)

For more information, please contact us at nyitcom@nyit.edu.