Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force was established to:

  • Evaluate the diversity, equity, and inclusion landscape at NYIT and create a roadmap for success in that area.
  • Identify the institutional capacity necessary to establish shared and sustained leadership including an organizational structure, areas of accountability, resources, and staffing levels within the context of other priorities at NYIT.
  • Develop a strategic plan with recommendations for the university community.
  • Execute priority projects on diversity, equity, and inclusion in focus areas identified by senior leadership.

Co-Chair: Emily Rukobo, Executive Director, Global Engagement – erukobo@nyit.edu

Co-Chair: Brian Harper, Associate Professor and Chief Medical Officer, College of Osteopathic Medicine – bharper@nyit.edu

The DEI members below are ambassadors and allies and should be sought out for support.

Membership

Daysi Fuentes Aguilar College of Arts and Sciences
Student, NYC campus
dfuentes@nyit.edu
Nada Anid Strategic Communications and External Affairs
Vice President
nanid@nyit.edu
Tiffani Blake Student Life
Interim Dean of Students
tblake@nyit.edu
Rosemary Burgos-Mira Library
Director, Public and Technical Services and Librarian III, LI campus
rburgosm@nyit.edu
Ashley Dent College of Arts and Sciences
Student, NYC Campus
adent@nyit.edu
Madyula Diallo School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
Student, NYC campus
mdiall03@nyit.edu
Christelle Gerdes School of Health Professions
Occupational Therapy Student, LI campus
cgerde01@nyit.edu
Ron Goldberg Strategic Communications and External Affairs
Web Content Editor
ron.goldberg@nyit.edu
Ellen Greer School of Health Professions
Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy
egreer@nyit.edu
Robert Harris Finance and Operations
Mechanic B, Facilities Operations
rharri05@nyit.edu
Emily Harwood Student
LI campus
eharwood@nyit.edu
Eric Horsfield Athletics
Assistant Athletic Director, Compliance
ehorsfie@nyit.edu
Carol Jablonsky Human Resources
Executive Director
cjablons@nyit.edu
Ellen Katz College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor and Department Chair, Social Sciences
ekatz@nyit.edu
Maya Kroumova School of Management
Associate Professor and Department Chair, Human Resource Studies
mkroumov@nyit.edu
Cheryl Monticciolo Office of the President
Director, Compliance and Title IX Coordinator
cheryl.monticciolo@nyit.edu
Diana Moronta NYIT Libraries
Librarian I, Instruction/Technology Service, NYC campus
lmoronta@nyit.edu
David Nadler College of Engineering and Computing Sciences
Assistant Professor and Department Chair, Environmental Technology and Sustainability
dnadler@nyit.edu
Kate E. O’Hara College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Studies and Masters Instructional Technology
kohara@nyit.edu
Brent Owens College of Osteopathic Medicine, Arkansas
Associate Director, Pipeline Programs
brent.owens@nyit.edu
Anu Raj College of Osteopathic Medicine
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
anu.raj@nyit.edu
Kristen Smith Academic Affairs
Registrar
mksmith@nyit.edu
Veneta Sotiropoulos School of Management
Associate Professor, Marketing
vsotirop@nyit.edu
Michael Urmeneta Analytics and Business Intelligence
Director, Planning, Analytics, and Decision Support
michael.urmeneta@nyit.edu
Karen Vahey Enrollment Management
Dean, Admissions and Financial Aid
karen.vahey@nyit.edu
Nader Vossoughian School of Architecture and Design
Associate Professor
nvossoug@nyit.edu
Christopher Williams Technology Based Learning Systems
STEM Trainer
christopher.williams@nyit.edu
Diane Williams College of Osteopathic Medicine
STEP Manager, Equity and Opportunity/Student Administration
dwilli29@nyit.edu
Katherine Zuliani Human Resources
Associate Director, Legal
kzuliani@nyit.edu