Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Sep 10 2012

Rose Antwi (rantwi@nyit.edu), medical director of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program (VIP), and Erin Vlasak (evlasak@nyit.edu), director of student services for VIP, published the article, "Where Do We Go From Here?" in the Sept. 5 issue of Exceptional Parent magazine. The article explores managing attention deficit disorder.

Terese Coe (tcoe@nyit.edu), adjunct professor of English, published several poems in publications in the United Kingdom, Ireland, and the United States in summer 2012, including:

  • "More," The Poetry Review. It was one of the poems copied many times and dropped by helicopter over London for the "Poetry Parnassus" event, which was part of the Summer 2012 Olympics.
  • "Dead Sea Scroll" and "Beyond the Possibility of Useful," Orbis magazine.
  • "Washington Square, Late Afternoon," New Walk magazine.
  • "Deceptions," The Warwick Review.
  • "Paradox," The Stinging Fly.
  • "Mid-Manhattan Library," Crannog magazine.
  • "Coffee Break," Per Contra, read more.

Peter Harris (pharris@nyit.edu), professor and chair of the Department of Accounting and Finance, published comments from his article, "A Case Study: U.S. GAAP Conversion to IFRS with an Analysis on Earning Management," on the U.S. Securities and Exchange website. Read more.

Christine Hawkins (chawkins@nyit.edu), social counselor for the NYIT Vocational Independence Program, published the article, "Animal Assisted Therapy: Is There Room in the Treatment Plan?" on Sept. 5 in Exceptional Parent magazine.

Ravichandran Krishnamurthy (kravicha@nyit.edu), assistant professor of finance at NYIT-Abu Dhabi, presented the paper, "An Empirical Study: Students' Perception On Service Quality - Using Malaysian HEDPERF Measurement Scale," at the 2012 International Conference on Organizational Innovation, July 10-12 at Air Langa University in Suarabaya, Indonesia. It also won the conference's best paper award.

Sarah Meyland, J.D. (smeyland@nyit.edu), associate professor and director of the NYIT Center for Water Resources Management, testified as a groundwater expert at an Aug. 29 public hearing on water security sponsored by legislators from Nassau and Suffolk Counties in Hauppauge, N.Y. She described current conditions of the groundwater supply and challenges facing Nassau and Suffolk Counties, and explained the science of problems and ways that aquifer protection can be achieved.

Yuko Oda (yoda@nyit.edu), associate professor of fine arts, exhibited artwork as part of GO Brooklyn Art, Sept. 8-9 in Brooklyn, N.Y. Read more.

Fred Rosen (frosen@nyit.edu), adjunct associate professor of communication arts, has been assigned a front page story for the Sunday section of the Atlanta Journal Constitution. He will write an exposé of the true timeline of the murder of Meredith Emerson committed by serial killer Gary Hilton on Georgia's Blood Mountain. His research shows a massive cover-up by authorities in reporting the truth of the case, and his book, Trails of Death, profiles Hilton and his four known murders. Read more on amazon.com.

Ernst O. VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean and executive director of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program, published the article, "NYIT: Providing Access to Higher Education and Employment," on Sept. 5 in the annual education issue of Exceptional Parent magazine.

Donglin Wang (dwang09@nyit.edu), assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering at NYIT-Nanjing, co-authored the paper, "Range Estimation in a Time Varying Multipath Channel," which was accepted for publication in the Springer journal Wireless Personal Communications.

Page 1 of 1