Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Aug 13 2012

NYIT faculty members are part of a multinational team to promote sustainable manufacturing and economic growth in Latin America for the federally funded educational partnership, "Pathways to Cleaner Production in the Americas." They include:

  • Nada Anid, Ph.D. (nanid@nyit.edu), dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
  • Marta Panero, Ph.D. (mpanero@nyit.edu), staff associate for the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
  • Sarah Meyland, J.D. (smeyland@nyit.edu), associate professor of environmental technology
  • Sarah McPherson, Ph.D. (smcphers@nyit.edu), associate professor and chair of the Master of Science in Instructional Technology Program

The project brings together leaders in business, engineering, and environmental education to address the need for technical skills training in industries across the Americas. Read more.

Rose Antwi (rantwi@nyit.edu), medical director of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program (VIP), and Erin Vlasak (evlasak@nyit.edu), director of student support services for VIP, co-wrote the article, "Epilepsy and Autism: The Importance of Medication Management," in the August 2012 issue of Exceptional Parent magazine.

Babak D. Beheshti (bbehesht@nyit.edu), associate professor and assistant dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, presented an invited talk, "Leadership Skills Development through Volunteerism," at the IEEE Europe - Middle East - Africa Regional Student Branch Congress, on July 27 in Madrid, Spain.

Peter Harris (pharris@nyit.edu), professor and chair of the Department of Accounting and Finance, presented the paper, "Managerial Opportunities of LIFO (Last In, First Out) Repeal," at the 2012 Global Business and International Management Conference, July 8-10 in Vancouver. The paper was published in the summer 2012 issue of the international journal Global Business and Management Research.

In addition, Harris published the paper, "U.S. GAAP Conversion to IFRS: A Case Study of the Income Statement," in the July/August 2012 issue of the Journal of Business Case Studies.

Christy Hawkins (chawkins@nyit.edu), social counselor for the NYIT Vocational Independence Program, published the article, "Life Skills: The Importance of Asking Questions for Those with an ASD" on July 31 in the special spotlights section of Parenting Special Needs magazine. Read more.

David Hogsette, Ph.D. (dhogsett@nyit.edu), professor of English, delivered two lectures at the Theological Academy of the Independent Reformed Church, July 2, in Seoul, South Korea. They included "Holy Scripture and Contemporary Theories of Literary Interpretation: How Should We Read, Interpret, and Apply the Bible?" and "Engaging Popular Culture through Biblical Theology: A Theocentric Reading of J.R.R. Tolkien's The Fellowship of the Ring." Both lectures were delivered in English with accompanying Korean translations.

Birasnav Muthuraj, Ph.D. (bmuthura@nyit.edu), assistant professor of management at NYIT-Bahrain, presented the paper, "Firm Characteristics, Leadership, and Knowledge Management: An Empirical Study," at the 12th Global Conference on Flexible Systems Management, July 31, in Vienna, Austria.

Susan Neville, Ph.D., R.N. (sneville@nyit.edu), associate professor and chair of the Department of Nursing, presented research on "Femininity: The Cultural Voices of Undeserved Latina Women at Risk for Breast Cancer" at the International Health Research Symposium on Health Care and Culture, May 25-30 at Wuhan University (Zhejiang Province) and #91 Military Hospital (Chaozuo, Henan Province) in China. She conducted the research with Ellen Greer, Ph.D., assistant professor and chair of the Department of Occupational Therapy. More than 700 nurses, doctors, and health care professionals attended the conference, which explored oncology issues and was hosted by the Wuhan Center for Disease Control and Prevention. Neville also toured the various hospital units and participated in several discussions with nursing staff and management.

Yuko Oda (yoda@nyit.edu), associate professor of fine arts, exhibited artwork for and helped to organize the event, "Japan: Sustainable Future," Aug. 5 at the Spin Gallery in New York City.

Michael Schiavi, Ph.D. (mschiavi@nyit.edu), professor of English and author of Celluloid Activist: The Life and Times of Vito Russo, appeared in the HBO premiere of the documentary Vito on July 23. He was also quoted in the July 22 New York Times review of the documentary. Read more.

David H. Tegay, D.O. (dtegay@nyit.edu), acting chair of the Department of Medicine at NYIT's College of Osteopathic Medicine, served as an invited speaker at the Chris Carrino Foundation for Facioscapulohumeral Muscular Dystrophy (FSHD) annual fundraiser, July 19, in Howard Beach, N.Y. He is the primary investigator for a research study into the genetic causes of FSHD that is supported in part by a grant from the Chris Carrino Foundation.

In addition, Tegay has been named to the editorial board of the Journal of the American Osteopathic Association.

Ernst O. VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean and executive director of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program (VIP); Paul K. Cavanagh, Ph.D. (pcavanag@nyit.edu), director of academics and evaluation for VIP; and Nancy Borchers (nborcher@nyit.edu), associate registrar, published the article, "The Post 9/11 G.I. Bill: A Way to Pay for Your Dependents' College," in the August issue of Exceptional Parent magazine.

In addition, members of VIP's social action group have raised $200 for the Ronald McDonald House Charities.

Page 1 of 1