Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Jun 17 2013

Sekhar Muni Amba (smuni@nyit.edu), assistant professor of finance at NYIT-Bahrain, published the research paper, "Corporate Governance and Firms' Financial Performance," in the May/June 2013 issue of the Journal of Academic and Business Ethics.

In addition, Amba and NYIT-Bahrain M.B.A. student Fatima Khalid Al-Hajeri, co-published the paper, "Determinants of Audit Fees in Bahrain: An Empirical Study," in the June 2013 issue of the Journal of Finance and Accountancy.

Nada Anid, Ph.D. (nanid@nyit.edu), dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, was interviewed for two stories in Long Island Business News: "LI Firm Builds Motorola HC1" (June 7) and "Can Microgrids Save LI?" (June 14). Login is required to read the stories.

Danielle Apfelbaum (dapfelba@nyit.edu), librarian I, served as a panelist on June 6 for the moderated discussion, "Demystifying the Working Life of a New Academic Librarian - What to Expect in the First Days, Weeks, Months, and Years." The event was co-sponsored by the Metropolitan New York Library Council and the Greater New York Metropolitan Area Chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

Carol Caico, Ph.D. (ccaico@nyit.edu), assistant professor of nursing, and Pamela Treister (ptreiste@nyit.edu), clinical instructor of nursing, are quoted in the article, "How to Overcome Shyness During a Panel Interview," on May 30 at HealthCallings.com.

Paolo Gasti, Ph.D. (pgasti@nyit.edu), assistant professor of computer science, co-authored the paper, "DoS & DDoS in Named Data Networking," which has been accepted for publication at the 2013 International Conference on Computer Communications and Networks.

Leonard B. Goldstein, D.D.S., Ph.D. (lbgoldst@nyit.edu), director of clerkship education for the College of Osteopathic Medicine, and fourth-year medical student Smita Prakash, co-published the article, "Advances in Pharmacologic Pain Management of Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis," in the June 2013 issue of Practical Pain Management.

Peter Harris (pharris@nyit.edu), professor of accounting, presented two papers at The Clute Institute in March 2013 in Key West, Fla. They include "The Theoretical Defenses of the Last in First in Inventory Methods" and "Case Study of U.S. GAAP to IFRS. The Statement of Cash Flow."

Larry Herman (lherman@nyit.edu), associate professor and chair of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies, gave a keynote presentation at the American Academy of Physician Assistants Conference, May 25-29 in Washington, D.C. He is pictured (center) with fellow conference presenters Elizabeth Dole (left), former U.S. senator, who is introducing him to Kathleen Sebelius (right), secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Eugene Mitacek, Ph.D. (emitacek@nyit.edu), professor of life sciences, traveled to NYIT-Abu Dhabi on May 24-26 as part of a collaborative effort to prepare a modular, for-credit program on marketing global health and wellness. It is designed to offset aggressive marketing by the beverage industry that contributes to obesity around the world. He also participated in sessions on food science and contaminated water treatment at the international BITEC-THAI WATER 2013 EXPO, June 5-8 in Bangkok, Thailand.

Ernst VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean and executive director of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program, published the article, "Assessing an Institution for Students with Physical Disabilities," on May 22 at i-studentglobal.com.

Rozina Vavetsi (rvavetsi@nyit.edu), associate professor of fine arts, and Patty Wongpakdee (kwongpak@nyit.edu), assistant professor of fine arts, have been awarded certificates of excellence as winners of the 2013 Graphic Design USA (GDUSA) Inhouse Design Awards, the largest showcase for outstanding work by inhouse designers. Vavetsi was recognized for her poster, "In Brands we Trust," and Wongpakdee for her designs for the American Cancer Society's Financial Services Cares and Birthday Bash. Examples of the projects will be featured on GDUSA's iPad app as well as its online and printed annual reports distributed to a national audience at trade shows and events throughout the year.

Nader Vossoughian, Ph.D. (nvossoug@nyit.edu), associate professor of architecture, is the recipient of a Graham Foundation grant for research on "Standardization Reconsidered: Ernst Neufert's Bauentwufslehre (1936) as Case Study." Read more.

Amy Young (ayoung@nyit.edu), librarian II, published the article, "Humor 101: Smiling Through the Stress and Meaning It," in the April/May 2013 issue of IMPRINT, a professional magazine for student nurses.

Page 1 of 1