Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Jul 16 2012

Mohammad Suleiman Awwad (mawwad01@nyit.edu), associate professor of business and marketing at NYIT-Amman, published the article, "Emotional Intelligence and Entrepreneurial Orientation: The Moderating Role of Organizational Climate and Employees' Creativity," in the Journal of Research in Marketing and Entrepreneurship.

Deepa Bhalla (dbhalla@nyit.edu), director of the Arthur O. Eve Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP), organized a July 6 alumni and student panel at the Manhattan campus. Alumni of the HEOP program shared their experiences at NYIT with 18 incoming HEOP freshmen. Read more.

Bill Blazey, D.O. (wblazey@nyit.edu), raised awareness of prostate cancer in the video, "Real Moustaches + Conversations = Real Outcomes," on the website of Movember, an organization dedicated to education on men's health issues. Watch the video and read more.

Linda Comac (lcomac@nyit.edu), director of the NYIT English Language Institute, published the article, "Live in English to Learn English," on schoov.com, one of several websites run by the International Education Service.

Anthony DiMatteo, Ph.D. (dimatteo@nyit.edu), professor of English, published three poems in the June 2012 issue of the Wilderness House Literary Review. Download a pdf of his poetry.

Ziqian (Cecilia) Dong, Ph.D. (ziqian.dong@nyit.edu), assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, attended the 119th annual conference of the American Society for Engineering Education, June 10-13 in San Antonio, Texas. She presented the paper, "Infusing the Curriculum with Cutting-Edge Technologies through Partnerships with Industry," during a session on innovative college-industry partnerships for the future. Paper co-authors also included Steven H. Billis, Ph.D. (sbillis@nyit.edu), professor of electrical and computer engineering, and Nada Marie Anid, Ph.D. (nanid@nyit.edu), dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences.

Hui-Yin Hsu, Ph.D. (hhsu02@nyit.edu), associate professor of teacher education; Shiang-Kwei Wang, Ph.D. (shiang-kwei.wang@nyit.edu), associate professor of instructional technology; and Lisa Runco, Ph.D. (lrunco@nyit.edu), assistant professor of life sciences, published the article, "Middle School Science Teachers' Confidence and Pedagogical Practice of New Literacies" in the peer-reviewed Journal of Science Education and Technology. Read more.

James Wyckoff (jwyckoff@nyit.edu), adjunct assistant professor of communication arts, was named research editor of SAS Perspectives, the quarterly newsletter of the Doctor of Health Administration program at the School for Advanced Studies (SAS) at the University of Phoenix in Arizona. He is a doctoral candidate at SAS and is researching the role of knowledge capital in hospitals. In his new editorial role, he will report on significant research studies and current news in the health care field.

Page 1 of 1