Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Apr 08 2013

nursing faculty members

The NYIT Department of Nursing hosted its eighth annual spring colloquium on March 28. The colloquium explored post-traumatic stress disorder and was chaired by Lisa Sparacino, R.N. (lsparaci@nyit.edu), instructor of nursing (pictured far right). Susan Neville, Ph.D., R.N. (sneville@nyit.edu), chair of the Department of Nursing (pictured far left), was among the guest speakers.

Susana H. Case, Ph.D. (shcase@nyit.edu), professor and coordinator for behavioral sciences at NYIT-Manhattan, had her book, Salem in Séance, reviewed in Boston Small Press and Poetry Scene.

Deborah Cohn, Ph.D. (dcohn02@nyit.edu), associate professor of marketing and director of Professional Enrichment at NYIT's New York campuses, presented two papers and served as a session chair at the Clute Institute International Business and Economics Academic Conference, March 20 in Key West, Fla. They are "And Baby Makes Three: Changes in Gift Prediction Accuracy during the Transition to Parenthood," and "Deliberate Inaccurate Preference Prediction in Gift Giving Between Spouses." The former won the "Best Paper in Session Award."

Joanne DiFrancisco-Donoghue, Ph.D. (jdonoghu@nyit.edu), exercise physiologist, was quoted about the benefits of walking for an article on livestrong.com.

Farzana Gandhi (fgandhi@nyit.edu), assistant professor of architecture, is a finalist in the Little Free Libraries RFQ Competition hosted by the Architectural League of New York. The competition was for the design and fabrication of a small-scale book shelter to be placed in a New York City public space.

John Hanc (jhanc@nyit.edu), associate professor of communication arts, served as a member of the faculty for Achieving Healthcare Leadership and Outcomes through Writing and Publishing, a continuing education program for physicians offered by Harvard Medical School. During the conference on March 14-16 in Cambridge, Mass., he led a writer's workshop, was part of a panel on the future of digital publishing, and gave a three-hour seminar on memoir writing. Nearly 200 individuals, most of them Harvard-affiliated physicians, attended the conference.

Bhuma Krishnamachari, Ph.D. (bkrishna@nyit.edu), assistant professor of medicine and assistant dean of research for the NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine, was profiled on the Masters in Health Care website.

Sarah Meyland, J.D. (smeyland@nyit.edu), associate professor and director of the NYIT Center for Water Resources Management, and Marta Panero, Ph.D. (mpanero@nyit.edu), staff associate for the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, taught cleaner production modules at a workshop, March 18-19, hosted by the Instituto Tecnológico (TEC) de Costa Rica. Meyland lectured on diagnostic tools for cleaner production and clean technologies, and Panero presented on industrial ecology and the importance of a systems-view analytical approach to promote sustainable development. The workshop is part of the initiative, "Pathways to Cleaner Production in the Americas through Integration of Business, Engineering, and Environmental Education," sponsored by the U.S. Department of State's Higher Education for Development Division and led by the Illinois Institute of Technology in partnership with NYIT and seven Latin American universities.

NYIT students and staff

Kate E. O'Hara, Ph.D. (kohara@nyit.edu), assistant professor of instructional technology, made the virtual presentation, "From Filtering to Freire: Critical Use of the Internet in Urban Classrooms," at the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education Conference, March 25-29 in New Orleans, La. The presentation reflected her auto-ethnographic work in urban schools, focusing on K-12 teachers' effective use of the Internet to engage students in critical thinking and critical consciousness, and enacting a critical pedagogy.

Rozina Vavetsi (rvavetsi@nyit.edu), associate professor of graphic design, gave a five-day workshop on information graphics to 20 visual communication students at the École de Communication Visuelle in Bordeaux, France.

Vanderie Vielie (vvielie@nyit.edu), counselor for NYIT's Arthur O. Eve Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP), organized a visit to the St. Paul the Apostle soup kitchen on March 28 in New York City. HEOP students served food alongside Archbishop Timothy Cardinal Dolan. Pictured above (left to right) are senior Juan Alcantara; Vielie; Dolan; and senior Ting Ting Mei.

Page 1 of 1