Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Apr 02 2013

Beth Adubato (badubato@nyit.edu), assistant professor of behavioral sciences, and several criminal justice students were featured on March 29 in a Fios1 News Long Island report about their "Take Back the Night" event to raise awareness of sexual assault and domestic violence. Read more.

Lak Amara (lamara@nyit.edu), associate professor and chair of telecommunications and electrical engineering technology, and Lazaros Pavlidis (lpavlidi@nyit.edu), associate professor of telecommunications and electrical engineering technology, attended a workshop sponsored by the National Science Foundation on advanced technological education in Troy, N.Y.

Susana H. Case, Ph.D. (shcase@nyit.edu), professor and coordinator for behavioral sciences at NYIT-Manhattan, had her poem, "Heat," featured in Extract(s). Read more.

Annie Christain, Ph.D. (lchrista@nyit.edu), assistant professor of English, collaborated on a poetry/art showcase through March 16 at an art gallery in South Dakota.

Mehtap Donuk and Michael Scarpa Burnett

Mehtap Donuk (mdonuk@nyit.edu), director of student activities at NYIT-Old Westbury, and Michael Scarpa Burnett (mburnett@nyit.edu), associate dean of campus life (pictured at left), were invited speakers at the national conference of the Association for the Promotion of Campus Activities (APCA), March 19-24 in Atlanta, Ga. They attended the conference with 10 students selected to serve as intern-leaders from the NYIT-Old Westbury Student Government Association and campus programming boards.

In addition, Donuk was honored as the APCA's Advisor of the Year.

Julie Fratrik (jfratrik@nyit.edu), director of the NYIT Center for Global Academic Exchange, and Karen Johnson (johnsonk@nyit.edu), associate director of international education, participated in the Association of International Educators' annual advocacy day, March 12-13 in Washington, D.C. They met with congressional representatives to lobby for immigration reform that directly benefits international students and federal support of study abroad programs to increase global competency among U.S. students.

NYIT President Edward Guiliano, Ph.D. (president@nyit.edu), joined six Nobel Prize Laureates on stage in the culminating session of the 2013 Education Without Borders Conference in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, to discuss "Innovation and 21st-Century Higher Education" and to field questions from an audience of hundreds of college students from around the globe. Washington journalist Riz Khan moderated the discussion.

John Hanc (jhanc@nyit.edu), associate professor of communication arts, has published two articles in The New York Times:

  • "Aquatic Academy Isn't Kid Stuff" on March 18, read more.
  • "What Did You Do in the Civil War, California?" on March 20, read more.

A paper by Peter Harris (pharris@nyit.edu), professor and chair of the Department of Accounting, was ranked No. 4 on the Social Science Research Network's Top 10 Downloads List. It is "A Comprehensive Case Study: U.S. GAAP Conversion to IFRS" and has been downloaded 53 times in 60 days.

John Hyde (jmhyde@nyit.edu), dean of career services, was quoted about the positive career prospects of computer science and engineering majors graduating in 2013 for the article, "High on Technology," March 21 in Long Island Business News. Read more (subscription required).

The "Paper Chase" exhibit coordinated by Jennifer Mitchell (jmitchel@nyit.edu), curator of NYIT Gallery 61, was featured in the visual arts section of the Swiss Events e-newsletter published by the Consulate General of Switzerland in New York.

David Tegay, D.O. (dtegay@nyit.edu), associate professor of medicine, was named chair of the NYIT Department of Medicine.

Ernst O. VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean and executive director for the NYIT Vocational Independence Program, gave the 2.5-hour workshop, "Transitioning to Residential Independence for Young Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders," March 26 at Camden County College in Blackwood, N.J. The lecture was sponsored by PACT, Parents of Autistic Children Together, a parent support group and chapter of the Autism Society of America.

In addition, VanBergeijk gave a lecture to 250 master's-level social work students on "Issues of Adulthood in the Disabilities Population: Hate Crimes, Employment, and Sexuality," March 27-28 at Columbia University, and was invited to be a peer reviewer for the Journal of Interpersonal Violence.

Page 1 of 1