Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Feb 19 2013

NYIT staff members accompanied students to Albany, N.Y., on Feb. 12 for Student Advocacy Day. They included:

NYIT faculty members from the NYIT Department of Physical Therapy (PT) presented research at the 2013 American Physical Therapy Association's National Combined Sections Meeting, Jan. 21-24 in San Diego. They included:

  • Rosemary Gallagher, D.P.T. (rgalla01@nyit.edu), assistant professor of PT and academic coordinator of clinical education, presented a research poster on the "Comparison of Lower Extremity Kinematic Patterns in Individuals with Parkinson's Disease During Stationary Upright and Semi-Reclined Cycling."
  • Cheryl Hall, D.H.Sc. (chall@nyit.edu), assistant professor of PT and academic coordinator of clinical education, presented her findings on "What's All the 'Hype' about Skype: The Effectiveness of Video Calling in Clinical Education."
  • John Handrakis, D.P.T., Ed.D. (jhandrak@nyit.edu), associate professor of PT, presented his research on "The Effects of Acute and Chronic Caffeine Use on Myocardial Oxygen Consumption in College-Aged Adults."

Frank Acevedo (facevedo@nyit.edu), assistant professor of physician assistant (PA) studies, and Barbara Piccirillo (bpicciri@nyit.edu), assistant professor of PA studies, presented workshops on "Ultrasound Overview in Trauma and the EFAST Examination" and "Musculoskeletal Ultrasound: Making the Diagnosis at the Bedside," Jan. 25-26 at the 31st Annual Winter Meeting of the Physician Assistant Academy of Vermont.

In addition, Acevedo presented a lecture on "Novel Biomarkers for Monitoring Sepsis and Response to Therapy."

Nada Anid, Ph.D. (nanid@nyit.edu), dean of the NYIT School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, and Marta Panero, Ph.D. (mpanero@nyit.edu), staff associate, traveled to Capitol Hill in conjunction with the Engineering Deans Public Policy Colloquium on advanced manufacturing, Feb. 11-13 in Washington, D.C. The colloquium provides a forum to advocate for engineering, science education, and research funding. They joined deans from across the nation and met with Sens. Charles Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand and Congressmen Jerrold Nadler, Tom Reed, Pete King, José Serrano, and Steve Israel. They also visited the National Science Foundation and the Air Force Research Laboratory in Arlington, Va.

Cathy Bernard (cbernard@nyit.edu), associate professor of English, had her letter to the editor published on Feb. 14 in The New York Times about gardens lost to Hurricane Sandy.

Susana H. Case, Ph.D. (shcase@nyit.edu), professor and coordinator for behavioral sciences at NYIT-Manhattan, has been interviewed by "Nostrovia! Poetry" in connection with her interest in rock and roll poetry and her soon-to-be-released book, Elvis Presley's Hips & Mick Jagger's Lips. Read more.

In addition, Case read from Elvis Presley's Hips & Mick Jagger's Lips and her recent book, Salem in Séance, at the JCC on the Hudson on Feb. 10 in Tarrytown, N.Y., and at The Yippee Museum Cafe on Bleecker Street on Feb. 18 in New York City.

Fred Rosen (frosen@nyit.edu), adjunct associate professor of communication arts, published an exclusive story on serial killer Gary Hilton on Jan. 6 in the Atlanta Journal Constitution. The article follows Trails of Death, his book on the case, which is available wherever books are sold.

Caren Sobier (csobier@nyit.edu), assistant director of student employment, had her article, "Best Practices for a Successful Supervisor Training," published by the Northeast Association of Student Employment Administrators, for which she serves as the district 4 representative.

Ernst O. VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program, presented the paper, "Employment and the Emergence of Comprehensive Transition and Post-Secondary Programs," on Feb. 6 to the Special Education Parent Advisory Committee at the Pompton Lakes (N.J.) School District.

Shiang-Kwei Wang, Ph.D. (skwang@nyit.edu), associate professor of instructional technology, and Hui-Yin Hsu, Ph.D. (hhsu02@nyit.edu) associate professor of teacher education, co-authored the interactive e-book, The Amazing iPad Book for Teachers, published by Apple iBookstore. This book is readable only with an iPad device due to the interactive features. Read more.

Garon Wheeler, Ph.D. (gwheeler@nyit.edu), campus dean at NYIT-Abu Dhabi, had his book, Language Teaching Through the Ages, published by Routledge.

Page 1 of 1