Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Dec 17 2012

Jeffrey Raven in India

Pictured is Jeffrey Raven, associate professor and director of the Master of Architecture in Urban and Regional Design (holding a flower bouquet), at a meeting on sustainable design at Sharda University in Uttar Pradesh, India. Read his faculty/staff achievement for details about his recent business trip to India.

Ann Aptaker (aaptaker@nyit.edu), adjunct professor of art history, served as moderator for a discussion on the works of master collagist Romare Bearden on Dec. 13 at ACA Galleries in New York City.

William Blazey, D.O. (wblazey@nyit.edu), assistant professor of family medicine, contributed the article, "Live Well This Holiday Season," in the inaugural issue of Living Out. Read more.

Susana H. Case, Ph.D. (shcase@nyit.edu), professor and coordinator for behavioral sciences at NYIT-Manhattan, published the poem, "Monterosso," in vol. 52 of Tar River Poetry.

Roberta Degnore, Ph.D. (rdegnore@nyit.edu), adjunct professor of English, has published three books in 2012, all available on Amazon.com: Gold Digger!, Stuck Up, and Until You See Me. View her new website.

Elizabeth J. Donaldson, Ph.D. (edonalds@nyit.edu), associate professor of English, co-edited the book, The Madwoman and the Blindman: Jane Eyre, Discourse, Disability, published by Ohio State University Press.

Leonard B. Goldstein, D.D.S., Ph.D. (lbgoldst@nyit.edu), director of clerkship education at the NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine, and 4th-year osteopathic medical students Sriniketh Sundar and Matthew Martell, published the article, "Postoperative Pain Relief after Knee and Hip Replacement: A Review," in the December 2012 issue of Practical Pain Management.

John Hanc (jhanc@nyit.edu), associate professor of communication arts, has published articles, including:

  • "Before Salem, There Was the Not-So-Wicked Witch of the Hamptons," one of Smithsonian Magazine's most emailed online stories for the week of Oct. 22, read more.
  • "At Shrine to Beats, Squares Are Welcome, Too," Oct. 26 in The New York Times, read more.
  • "Beyond Competition, Running for a Greater Cause," Nov. 8 in The New York Times, read more.

Mindy Haar, Ph.D. (mhaar@nyit.edu), director of program development for the NYIT Department of Interdisciplinary Health Sciences, contributed to "Cold Season Prevention Pointers" on the Mom.Me web site. Read more.

Peter Harris (pharris@nyit.edu), professor of accounting and faculty coordinator of the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program (VITA), has passed all 12 of the Internal Revenue Service's VITA/TCE certification course exams, including advanced and international tests, and is a VITA instructor. Read more.

A review by Kevin LaGrandeur, Ph.D. (klagrand@nyit.edu), of a NYC TEDx conference on emerging technologies that he attended on Dec. 3, has been published by the Institute of Ethics and Emerging Technologies. Read more.

Sarah Meyland, J.D. (smeyland@nyit.edu), director of the NYIT Center for Water Resources Management, testified at a bi-county public hearing on finding solutions to better manage the groundwater supply and aquifer system on Long Island. She recommended development of an aquifer compact similar to the compacts that manage river systems in New York state and elsewhere.

Jeffrey Raven (jraven@nyit.edu), associate professor and director of the Master of Architecture in Urban and Regional Design, recently returned from a trip to India, where he met with colleagues at universities, public officials, and private-sector leaders. He served as a member of an international jury for the European Union-India workshop, "Shaping a New Capital City to Fit Indian Life," and as a speaker at the "Building Livable Cities: Ideas Symposium," hosted by the Urban Vision Symposium on Dec. 5 in Mumbai.

Oren Shtayermman, Ph.D. (oshtayer@nyit.edu), assistant professor of mental health counseling, published a review of Liane Holliday Willey's book, Aspergirls: Empowering Females with Asperger Syndrome, in the Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders.

Amr Swid, Ph.D. (aswid@nyit.edu), assistant professor of management and dean of students at NYIT-Bahrain, published the article, "Effects of Newcomers Traits on Gaining Political Knowledge of the Organizations," in the Journal of American Academy of Business. Read an abstract.

Ernst O. VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean and executive director of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program (VIP) and Paul Cavanagh, Ph.D. (pcavanag@nyit.edu), director of academics and evaluation for VIP, published the article, "Job Trends and Students with Disabilities," in the December 2012 issue of Exceptional Parent magazine.

In addition, VanBergeijk published an online book review of Matthew Dicks' novel, Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend, on Dec. 12 in the Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders, and the op-ed, "New Autism Definitions Will Leave Too Many Out of Services," on Dec. 11 in Newsday. Read more.

Page 1 of 1