Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Achievements

Oct 09 2012

NYIT Faculty

Faculty members attended a cross-disciplinary networking wine and cheese reception hosted by NYIT Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Rahmat Shoureshi, Ph.D. (pictured, far right) on Oct. 2 in Manhattan.

Nada Anid, Ph.D. (nanid@nyit.edu), dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, and Roger Smith (rsmith08@nyit.edu), adjunct professor of architecture, were quoted in the Oct. 3 article, "The Future of Engineering Firms," in Long Island Business News.

In addition, Anid was invited to join the newly founded Engineering Regional Industry Council of the Long Island Regional Economic Development Council.

Deepa Bhalla (dbhalla@nyit.edu), director of the Arthur O. Eve Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP), and Vanderie Vielie (vvielie@nyit.edu), HEOP counselor, organized a Sept. 21 cultural exchange for NYIT students in New York City. Read more.

Nicholas Dagen Bloom, Ph.D. (nbloom@nyit.edu), associate professor, chair of interdisciplinary studies, and director of the NYIT core curriculum, wrote the article, "Learning from New York," accepted by the Journal of the American Planning Association.

Amy Bravo (abravo@nyit.edu), director of experiential education and employer outreach, served as a panelist for the presentation, "Introducing Service-Learning Into the Curriculum and Assessment Methods," moderated by Adrienne McNally (amcnally@nyit.edu), assistant director of experiential education. The Sept. 24 event was hosted by the Long Island Regional Service-Learning Network at St. Joseph's College in Patchogue N.Y.

Susana H. Case, Ph.D. (shcase@nyit.edu), professor and coordinator for behavioral sciences at NYIT-Manhattan, published the poem, "Zeno in Keweenaw," in the October 2012 issue of Pudding Magazine.

Annie Christain, Ph.D. (lchrista@nyit.edu), assistant professor of English at NYIT-Nanjing, helped to organize an American Culture Club meeting on the topic of life at the U.S. military academy West Point, Oct. 8 in China.

Lawrence Herman (lherman@nyit.edu), associate professor and director of physician assistant studies and primary care initiatives, was a guest of Dr. Aaron Katz, chair of the Department of Urology at Winthrop University Hospital, on "Katz's Corner," a live broadcast aired on Oct. 7 on WABC 770 radio. He represented the American Academy of Physician Assistants, of which he is president-elect. Listen to a podcast of the show.

David S. Hogsette, Ph.D. (dhogsett@nyit.edu), professor of English and coordinator of the writing program at NYIT-Old Westbury, delivered the presentation, "Using Safari Live Web-Conferencing Technology in Technical Writing Courses: How Nonhuman Software Can Rehumanize Online Learning Spaces," at the Conference of the Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts, Sept. 30 in Milwaukee, Wisc. Read more.

Kevin LaGrandeur, Ph.D. (klagrand@nyit.edu), associate professor of English and director of NYIT's technical writing programs, presented the talk, "A Survey of Tools for Teaching with Technology," at the Conference of the Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts, Sept. 30 in Milwaukee, Wisc. The presentation was part of a panel called "Teaching in the Age of New Media," and was co-authored by Francine Glazer, Ph.D. (fglazer@nyit.edu), assistant provost and director of the NYIT Center for Teaching and Learning, and Sebastien Marion (smarion@nyit.edu), librarian III, virtual services. Co-investigators included Daniel Quigley, Ph.D. (dquigley@nyit.edu), associate professor of English and associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Stanley Silverman (stan@nyit.edu), professor of education and director of Technology-Based Learning Systems; Michael Uttendorfer, Ed.D. (muttendo@nyit.edu), associate professor of education and assistant provost of academic affairs; and Kate O'Hara, Ph.D. (kohara@nyit.edu), assistant professor of education.

Michael Schiavi, Ph.D. (mschiavi@nyit.edu), professor of English, read the paper, "When One (Dead) Gay Italian Son Helps Another," at the Sept. 29 conference, Radically Gay: The Life and Visionary Legacy of Harry Hay, in New York City.

Ernst O. VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean and executive director of the NYIT Vocational Independence Program (VIP), and Paul Cavanagh, Ph.D. (pcavanag@nyit.edu), director of academics and evaluation for VIP, published the Oct. 5 article, "Employment and Transitioning: Ten Tips to Finding the Right Transition Program," in Exceptional Parent magazine.

Page 1 of 1