Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Accomplishments and News

Sep 24 2013

Accomplishment

Congratulations to faculty members in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences on receiving a $60,000 federal grant from the National Science Foundation to develop a multidisciplinary, multi-campus minor in STEM education in collaboration with SUNY colleges and universities on Long Island.

News

Faculty members in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences presented their research at NYIT's annual Cyber Security Conference on Sept. 19 in Manhattan.

  • Ziqian (Cecilia) Dong, Ph.D. (ziqian.dong@nyit.edu), assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering: "IP Geolocation as a Forensic Tool."
  • Paolo Gasti, Ph.D. (pgasti@nyit.edu), assistant professor of computer science: "NDN Interest Flooding Attacks and Countermeasures!"
  • Wei Ding, Ph.D. (wding02@nyit.edu), assistant professor of computer science: "Multimodal Implicit Authentication of Mobile Phones Using Sonic Distance Measurements."

Farzana Gandhi (fgandhi@nyit.edu), assistant professor of architecture, was one of three international architects invited by the University of Puerto Rico to lead a group of local students in a Collective Architecture Workshop, Sept. 2-6 in San Juan. The workshop resulted in the design and construction of small-scale architectural interventions in three public spaces in a low-income neighborhood of Old San Juan, and received press coverage including an article in El Nuevo Dia and segment on the Radial Architecture Program broadcasted on 89.7 FM radio station in San Juan. Gandhi also presented a lecture on Sept. 4 at the Arquitectura Panorama Cambiante Conference.

Sarah McPherson, Ed.D. (smcphers@nyit.edu), associate professor and chair of the Department of Instructional Technology and Leadership, was appointed to the Continuous Improvement Commission/Accreditation Council of the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation through June 2015.

Susan Neville, Ph.D., R.N. (sneville@nyit.edu), associate professor and chair of the Department of Nursing, and Maureen Cardoza, Ph.D., R.N. (mcardoza@nyit.edu), assistant professor of nursing, have achieved qualification as Certified Dementia Practitioners from the National Council of Certified Dementia Practitioners through Sept. 12, 2015.

Page 1 of 1