Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Accomplishments and News

Oct 22 2013

PICTURED: NYIT staff members and students who supported the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk. For more information, read their news item.

Accomplishment

Nada Anid, Ph.D. (nanid@nyit.edu), dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, was inducted into the Long Island Business News (LIBN) "Most Influential Women in Business" Hall of Fame and selected as a member of its 2013 class of Long Island's Top 50 Most Influential Women in Business. It's the third time she's received the LIBN award for her contributions to the region's economy and to the community in which she does business. Read more.

News

Terese Coe (tcoe@nyit.edu), adjunct professor of English, published her poem, "Tompkins Square," on the website of the American Arts Quarterly. Read more.

B. Suzy Diggle-Fox (bdigglef@nyit.edu), instructor of nursing, oversaw six NYIT nursing students who participated in the 12th Senior Health Expo sponsored by Sen. Kemp Hannon on Oct. 3 in Garden City, N.Y. They administered flu and pneumococcal vaccines to senior citizens, answered their questions, and provided educational information about health care services, from mammogram access to tips for doing background research on insurance providers.

Farzana Gandhi (fgandhi@nyit.edu), assistant professor of architecture, presented her design for a mobile wellness unit for Williamsburg, Brooklyn, as part of the "Healthy Communities" DesigNYC Exhibition on Oct. 15 at the New York Design Center. It will also be featured at Pro Bono Day with the TapRoot Foundation on Oct. 23 at the Center for Social Innovation in New York City.

Robert J. Koenig, Ed.D. (rkoenig@nyit.edu), associate dean of the School of Management, delivered the presentation, "American Cultural Tastes, Social Mannerism, and the 1985 Presidential Inauguration," to dignitaries of China's Peking University, CEOs of leading businesses, and celebrity media personnel on Oct. 1 at the Sheraton Pentagon in Washington, D.C. Koenig served as an executive sous chef for the 1985 inauguration of President Ronald Reagan and Vice President George H. Bush.

Sarah Meyland, J.D. (smeyland@nyit.edu), associate professor of environmental technology and director of the NYIT Center for Water Resources Management, was quoted as an expert in a Newsday series on Long Island water issues. She discussed the problem of water waste and over-pumping aquifers, especially to irrigate lawns, an issue of special concern in Nassau County, N.Y.

Ernst VanBergeijk, Ph.D. (evanberg@nyit.edu), associate dean and executive director of NYIT's Vocational Independence Program, presented the paper, "Finding Funding for Postsecondary Transition Services," at the 31st Annual Autism New Jersey Conference, Oct. 18 in Atlantic City, N.J.

NYIT staff members and students participated in the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk on Oct. 20 in New York City, including:

  • Deepa Bhalla (dbhalla@nyit.edu), director of NYIT's Arthur O. Eve Higher Education Opportunity Program (HEOP).
  • Vanderie Vielie (vvielie@nyit.edu), HEOP counselor.
  • Susan Heim(sheim@nyit.edu), director of residential life at NYIT-Manhattan.
  • Josheema Oliver (jolive03@nyit.edu), assistant director of residential life at NYIT-Manhattan.
  • Michael Schneider (mschne01@nyit.edu), director of Counseling and Wellness at NYIT-Manhattan.

Page 1 of 1