Updates for Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Accomplishments and News

Sep 04 2013

Accomplishments

Md Hyder Alam (malam07@nyit.edu), adjunct professor of accounting, was selected as a member of the advisory council of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners, and awarded the designation of Chartered Global Management Accountant by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Hui-Yin Hsu, Ph.D. (hhsu02@nyit.edu), associate professor of teacher education, and Shiang-Kwei Wang, Ph.D. (skwang@nyit.edu), associate professor of instructional technology, organized and chaired a session for the Chinese American Academic and Professional Society's 38th Annual Convention, Aug. 25 in Flushing, N.Y. This year's theme was technology and education: enriching lifestyle, culture, and economy. Their session discussed issues pertaining to literacy education in Chinese-American families, using technology to enhance Chinese language teaching, and teaching Chinese-American students with autism spectrum disorders.

Kristine Prazak (kprazak@nyit.edu), assistant professor of physician assistant studies, published the article, "A Puzzling Lymphadenopathy," in the September 2013 issue of the Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. Read more.

Robert Smith (rsmith@nyit.edu), associate professor of fine arts, and NYIT graduate students Ariadni Vezyroglou and Nina Mirhabibi, participated in a digital sculpture training workshop to research the possibilities of combining traditional and digital marble carving technologies, June 8-July 7 in Garfagnana, Italy. The town is designated as an innovation technology center and artisan incubator for the stone industry by the Italian government. The trio presented their work in an exhibition at the Fortezza di Montalfonso in Castelnuovo di Grafgnana, July 6-30 in Italy. Read more and view pictures.

News

Hussain Ahmad (hahmad@nyit.edu), director of financial aid, was presented a medal and citation by Nassau County Executive Edward P. Mangano on Aug. 18 at the 2013 International Music Night Concert Series in East Meadow, N.Y. He was recognized for his contributions and dedicated services to the community in Nassau County.

Nada Anid, Ph.D. (nanid@nyit.edu), dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, and Marta Panero, Ph.D. (mpanero@nyit.edu), staff associate for the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences, were featured in a report about NYIT's new EcoPartnership to address clean water challenges in China, Aug. 26 on SinoVision English Channel. They were interviewed by Livia Areas-Holmblad (B.F.A. '12), TV reporter for the channel's show, Sinovision Journal, which covers Chinese culture in the United States. View the segment.

Cathy Bernard (cbernard@nyit.edu), associate professor of English, published a letter to the editor, "Paying for College: Obama's Proposal," Aug. 26 in The New York Times. Read more.

Lawrence Herman (lherman@nyit.edu), associate professor and chair of the Department of Physician Assistant (PA) Studies, was interviewed by WABC Radio on Aug. 30 about the U.S. Affordable Care Act and how it impacts PAs. The 20-minute interview will be distilled to a few quotes and distributed to ABC affiliates for broadcast at a later date.

Page 1 of 1